Two movie reviews, a memorial and a little ranting…

August 9, 2009 at 11:23 pm (FILM)

so I don’t know why the spacing is weird…I will keep trying to fix it.

So here is my long awaited post…

G.I. JOE: THE RISE OF COBRA- (PG-13)

So the long story of how I ended up at the midnight showing of this movie alone is, well, long, but let me say that it was interesting to say the least. Going into this movie, I was thinking that this movie was going to be really cool in the action sequences, but probably not be the best writing… this is an action movie we are taking about, so what else would you expect? (BUT it also promised some greatness- it features my favorite Joseph Gordon-Levitt)
G.I. Joe is, of course, based off of the toys and old cartoon show about an elite and secret force of soldiers from around the world. They step in when “all else fails” as the movie promo tells us. The movie focuses on two Army soldiers induction into the group after they survive an attack on their troops. There is also an arch-enemy, which has some unexpected ties to the new members. But, all will be revealed…
This is a fairly predictable movie. All of the plot twists are not so twisty, but if you don’t take it too seriouisly, you might find yourself enjoying it. I was surprised how quickly they revealed the connections between the bad guys and the “Joes” and the acting is not the best in the world, but I never expected it to be.
My Rating:  C-   It is a fun action flick. Not Star Trek good, but not Transformers 2 bad. Plus any preview that uses classic Kid Rock… well that’s a plus. Kidding… kind of.
JULIE & JULIA- (PG-13)
So being someone who is unemployed, I was worried that this movie was really going to bring me down (it being about a woman who is so unhappy with her job that she turns to blogging…). But then again it has the always fabulous Meryl Streep as Julia Child, whose show was always playing in my Nana’s room when I was growing up.
This movie follows two true stories as the previews tell us many, many times. One story is about how Julia Child becomes Julia Child, the master chef, and how she comes to write her book, Mastering the Art of French Cooking. The second story is about Julie Powell and her life after she decides to blog about cooking all of the recipes in Child’s book in one year. Growing desperate from her depressing job and her all-too-fabulous friends, she turns to this assignment to help find herself.
This is a cute movie. It’s not mind-blowing or fabulous (like The Devil Wears Prada); it was cute. Amy Adams is really good and can hold her own with Streep, as she proved in Doubt. And Streep is dead-on as Julia Child. But, there is something that just doesn’t do it in this film. It’s a little long for a movie like this.
My Rating:  C  It’s cute, but I would recommend going to 500 Days of Summer instead.
JOHN HUGHES- (1950-2009)
The visionary that brought real teenagers to the screen has passed away. I am so sad to be writing this post because I love his movies and they were the movies that defined a generation.  John Hughes passed away last Thursday of a heart attack. He was 59.
In the 1980s, he directed classics like The Breakfast Club, Sixteen Candles, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off and a family favorite Planes, Trains and Automobiles. But his writing legacy is even more expansive- writing Pretty in Pink, National Lampoon’s Vacation and Christmas Vacation, and (kid classic movies) Beethoven and the Home Alone series.
“John’s desire for the truth of the spoken word aligned perfectly with his gift for treating young people not as children but as developing adults,” said Judd Nelson, who played The Breakfast Club‘s tough guy “Andrew”. “John always treated me with respect and consideration [and] he was most generous with his insight. … I know many people whose lives were touched by John will be saddened today. … I know I am.”
We have lost a legend and I know I will miss him and his writing, but I will also celebrate the movies that he gave us. He is survived by his wife of almost 40 years Nancy and his two children.
MY RANT…. BEAR WITH ME…
So not to end on an angry note or anything, but I need to put this somewhere and I think that this is as good of a place as any. Do people have any consideration for other people??? I mean really? I, of course, mean this in movie theatres, but I cannot believe what people do in movie theatres. I mean really?!?!?! So here are some pointers for, well, no… not you, my lovely readers because I know you would not do any of this, but to the world…
1. Do not bring your infant child to a midnight showing of a loud action movie. Why? I mean I know you want to see a movie, but why wake up your two children under the age of 2 and bring them to a loud action movie at midnight and expect them not to cry and bother everyone else around you?
2. Do not hold a conference call in the middle of a movie theatre. If you are such an important person, why are you at a movie in the middle of a work day? And no sir, if you go into that little alcove STILL IN THE THEATRE, we can still hear you! 5 calls in an hour and a half movie is a lot. A LOT!
3. Movie theatres are not a playground for your unsupervised children. It is called a babysitter… use one.
4. Keep Comments to yourself. Or at least at a decible that the entire theatre cannot hear you.
5. Watch the movie. You don’t pay $10 a person to do whatever… you can do whatever you want in your own house for FREE!
Sorry, I have had some bad movie watchers with me recently and I don’t know why people go to the movies if you don’t actually care to watch them. I think I also care more than most so it irks me to say the least… thank you for listening people.

Leave a Reply

